XBMC and Pulseaudio

Xbox Media Center seems to have a share of problems on my system. The most recent events has been that the audio seems to crash, either going silent or getting stuck in a endless loop that’s quite annoying. This seems to happen quite often if I jump in movies.

The first solution, rebooting the system, wasn’t exactly neat. The second is sort-of work-in-progress. But it seems to work which is nice:

In System – Preferences – Sound I’ve changed all settings to use ALSA screenshot-sound-preferences

Then either before I start XBMC or when the problem occurs I run:

sudo killall pulseaudio
ps aux | grep pulse

If there still is pulseaudio processes left I kill them with

sudo kill -9 whateverprocess

I think this happens mostly when I has been running XBMC and the audio is hung. Of course the ideal thing here would be to disable pulseaudio completely, or to pray for team-xbmc to fix this. I have not decided what to do yet, I have to do some reading on this PulseAudio, it might be there for some other reason than to break XBMC.

2 Responses to XBMC and Pulseaudio

  1. medvet says:

    You might want to use pasuspender to temporarily disable pulse when running xbmc. type pasuspender xbmc to your console and it should work – the pulseaudio gets disabled (and frees alsa) only for the duration of xbmc session, afterwards pasuspender enables it so the rest of ubuntu programs can use the sound card simultaneously like before…

Leave a Reply

